PDA

View Full Version : Any advice????

Bioartist
05-29-2004, 08:23 AM
Hi all,
as I am new to this thread, please forgive me if I am posting the wrong type of "digial art" or if it doesn't post at all (still learning :rolleyes: ).
Anyway, I completed this with photoshop and would greatly appreciate any c&c.
Stacey :D

Elvira
05-29-2004, 09:15 AM
The idea is great but the message doesn't seem to carry through, my daughter said it was because the girl doest look the part, she looks too serene and healthy, so that she doesn't emote desperation or depression. I'm not sure how to fix it. Again my daughter suggests that if you were make her gaunt and dragged out it would work better, the look of that controversial Calvin Klien street/drug Ad series is the general idea. Edie

Michael
05-29-2004, 01:36 PM
I will agree with Elvira here, and also say that I believe you can leave her as is but "dirty" her up a bit, smuge some dirt on her in other words.

I do think the black and white against the color works well though, and the deep texture of the background, which seems to be missing from the girl. On the whole though, I think it CAN work as it is.

Jet
05-29-2004, 02:16 PM
Yep, i agree with the above...
...too clean and too photographic look..
Advice ?....oh, no..... not me... :(

...but i 'd gladly give a suggestion.. ;)
.. i would smudge the girl to make the photo less evident and smoothly blend into the background ...

Ah ! one more thing , i would change recieve for RECEIVE :D

Good shadow work ! http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif

Regards

JCoop
05-29-2004, 04:18 PM
Elvira, your daughter has keen sensibilities! I agree with her completely... and everyone else too.
Stacy, clearly you are very talented... I'm sure you will get there with the advice given above.

themanda
05-29-2004, 10:43 PM
yes, this piece has potential, otherwise you wouldn't have gotten this type of response! :)