PDA

View Full Version : Reefed

2003maryann
05-24-2004, 11:23 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2004/20472-SKETCH_ON_10_X_11_OF_REEFED.jpg http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2004/20472-black_and_white_thumbnail_equalization_reefed.jpg
First I did a sketch of the clouds and rain for this seacape on 8 by 11 paper in pencil. Then I drew the boat, used masking fluid to white the boat and water around it, also masking fluid to indicate where I wanted white in the clouds. Then i started painting in acrylic on a 12 by 16 watercolor paper 140 lb. I am still working on it but I wanted to show the black and white version of this work. I have to stictch together the top and bottom of the painted version. 2003maryann
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/24-May-2004/20472-thumbnail__bottom_half_of_Reefed.jpg this is the bottom half of the picture, so far. Also I have since changed the boat and waves and will now have to rescane them. 2003maryann

BermudaArt
05-24-2004, 02:13 PM
I love this .. this is great! Very dramatic, makes me feel glad to be safe and dry at home :D

Marty C
05-24-2004, 06:31 PM
Hi Mary Ann,
I'll second that great! Thansk for showing the process you went through, the result so far is just wonderful, one of the best storm scenes I have seen in ages!

LisaArt
05-24-2004, 10:22 PM
Hi Maryann, This is gorgeous. Love the colours and the movement.
A great storm atmosphere you created :clap:

1065tomh
05-25-2004, 11:19 AM
Hi mary ann
What a lovely painting. When I see this Im glad Im not a sailor anymore...
Really good atmosphere

Tom

2003maryann
05-25-2004, 11:28 AM
Thank you one and all for your comments. I am still not finished with this painting as yet but I will scann it as soon as I am and try to stitch the whole piece together. Lisa Art how is the dinghy coming for your dad?