PDA

View Full Version : Please help with comments

okiltex
09-17-2001, 04:00 AM
This is for an assignment at my university, due this Thursday. We were supposed to start with an idea in our head and then communicate it clearly. Perhaps I've done so, perhaps not.

Regardless, please offer any comments you have on how I might improve composition, perspective, proportion, variety, dynamics/tension, contrast, content, shape, or anything else you see. Don't worry about my feelings with your comments; I know you're here to help me.

Also, what does the work make you feel? What does it communicate to you?

Since the photo was taken, I've fixed up the white shape of the left eye and something else that I don't remember.

Thanks for taking the time to view this and comment! I appreciate it very much.

Charcoal, 22x30 inches

Luvy
09-17-2001, 09:13 AM
Looks great to me. Although I'm wondering where the ropes are on the other hand, other than that looks fine to me. But I'm a newbie to the art world

rsmak
09-17-2001, 09:21 AM
it is nice,but compare the strong muscle with his arm ,the body is a bit too small ,I think.
rosanna

ejfarrae
09-17-2001, 09:58 AM
first let me just say that this is a great drawing. very powerful. great use of darks and lights. balanced composition. great expression. this piece is loaded with emotion. despair. hopelessness. anger. longing. very effective.
the only criticisms i have are that i think the right hand needs a little more work. it seems unfinished, and the dark lines on the face are a little hard to read. are these shadows or some more bindings?
also, great job on the textures of the body.

pampe
09-17-2001, 10:03 AM
agreeing with the above comments.....very powerful and well-done

Pam

jerryW
09-17-2001, 05:08 PM
more to the left,
a little higher,
ahhh...
can you scratch harder?
yes!

okiltex
09-18-2001, 01:34 AM