PDA

View Full Version : Instruction

Moosehead
05-14-2004, 01:59 PM
Hi. I started painting in acrylics a couple of months ago. I'm quite enjoying it. So far my instruction has come from books and WC. I have not had any art instruction at all. I would like to take some formal instruction, but am not in a position to spend a lot of money on it. I paint as a hobby (although if I became good enough to sell, I wouldn't be adverse to the idea). My questions are:

1. Would you recommend fewer one on one classes, over several group lessons (the cost would be about the same)?

2. Would you recommend taking the instruction fairly early on, so I don't have to "unlearn" possible bad habits, or would I get more benefit by taking them later. That is, should I continue with self-instruction until I've reached a plateau with it and then take formal instruction?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

frisbee1948
05-14-2004, 03:44 PM
I take painting classes at my local community college. It costs about $50 per semester (15 classes). The instructor is wonderful.

I would recommend taking classes as soon as possilbe. That way you won't be spending time and money unlearning bad habits.

odge
05-16-2004, 01:09 AM
I have to admit I have come a lot further since I've been going to lessons than I did on my own, but I think how well you do is based on the teacher. If you find a teacher who works for you then you will do a lot better than with one you don't respect.

As to whether you have group lessons or individual, I would say there are advantages and disadvantages to both. In group lessons, you get to see what everyone else is doing and can learn from them as well, but you will get less personal attention, whereas with individual lessons the reverse applies.

Well that's my 2 cents worth anyway.

Jo

Moosehead
05-16-2004, 09:50 AM