PDA

View Full Version : Question: Is it a no, no ...

binkie
05-14-2004, 01:23 PM
I've seen so many lovely paintings here with such great strokes that I'd like to try copying some of them just for practice. Is that allowed or strictly forbidden, and I'll be hanged upside down until my fingers swell so bad I won't be able to hold any more offending pastels???

binkie

binkie
05-14-2004, 01:25 PM
p.s. Please, don't start throwing things at me (unless it's chocolate). I am just learning and get so excited by your paintings.

Hope I haven't stepped on any toes.

binkie

k9artisan
05-14-2004, 01:33 PM
Binkie,

I would think it would be up to the artist as to whether they mind or not. But that is just my guess.
am :)

Mikki Petersen
05-14-2004, 01:37 PM
What you do in the privacy of your own home is entirely up to you but you probably should not post them unless you have the individual artist's permission. What you might consider, though is joining in on the Pastel Riots in this forum or the WDE's (Weekend Drawing Events) in the All Media Events forum. In these exercises, everyone uses the same set of reference photos to draw and paint from. This allows you to study what others are doing and try to incorporate from that.

Khadres
05-14-2004, 01:39 PM
I'd agree with K9, I think. If you see something you'd like to emulate for practice, just PM the artist and ask if they'd mind. The only problem you're going to have, assuming they give permission, is that these "practice" pieces are apt to be some of the best stuff you've done, but you won't be able to show or sell it when you're done, so beware!

CarlyHardy
05-14-2004, 07:06 PM