PDA

View Full Version : Portrait from the Portrait Conference

Kitty Wallis
05-11-2004, 09:55 PM
Here are the underpainting, about 20 min, and the finished piece, about 30 min.

The camera exaggerated the reds in her face, a little.

Fagan
05-11-2004, 10:20 PM
You make this look so simple! very well done! I love that wedge of hair...and the highlighted curls.
I am new to pastels and have heard about this Wallis paper. *LOL* I did not know someone from WetCanvas had invented it. How kewl is that?? :D

Dyin
05-11-2004, 10:56 PM
The hair is awesome. I love the colors in the face, I've seen Barb (bnoonan) use this green to good effect too. The pink over the lip throws me a little tonewise...but I'd never think to use this strong a yellow for the highlights ... it works so great :clap: :clap: :clap:

Khadres
05-11-2004, 11:28 PM
Another cooool one! Love the hair and another great likeness overall! Wow!

Stoy Jones
05-11-2004, 11:31 PM
The camera exaggerated the reds in her face, a little.

Regardless, most expressive in terms of warmth and color! Lovely work!

Stoy

cjkelly
05-12-2004, 12:12 AM
You do this so effortlessly - 30 mins is just amazing.
I find the way you have approached the tonal range and colour choices fascinating....and of course, that trademark Kitty squiggle in the hair really adds to the character!

cj

Mikki Petersen
05-12-2004, 12:34 AM
I bow in complete AWE :confused: ! I cannot even do the initial sketch in 30 minutes and I rarely end up with a likeness. I am also fascinated by the creative eye that can see all those colors in a face. I try that and I end up with studies of UFO's! Beautifully done.

jackiesimmonds
05-12-2004, 04:54 AM
Welcome back, and this is wonderful Kitty. I am in awe too.

Jackie

meowmeow
05-12-2004, 09:03 AM
Awestruck! This is gorgeous...I love it and can't believe you were able to do it in 30 minutes.