PDA

View Full Version : Hello all, another newbie here!

CazM
05-06-2004, 11:44 AM
Hi everyone,

I have been reading this forum and picking up some great tips, so now its time to introduce myself! I am very new to acrylics, i got a set for christmas and have been doing some experiments and making a mess ever since! But i think i am starting to get somewhere now. This is my second painting on canvas (the first was just a simple abstract landscape and not very good). Ive been doing this painting on and off for about 2 weeks. It still needs some more work but i ran out of black and white paint so i had to stop! So i thought i would take a photo of it. Any comments and suggestions on how to improve it would be welcome! :)

http://www.btinternet.com/~weird.fish/images/elly_canvas.jpg

Thanks Caroline :)

ExpressiveAngie
05-06-2004, 02:54 PM
Caroline - I have noticed you in here before and I am thrilled you posted this wonderful painting. I think some darks on the elephant would only enhance this lovely painting, please be sure to show any updates!

artistodon
05-07-2004, 01:54 AM
Hi Caroline,
I really love your colors. They are so rich and work so well together. The only suggestion I would make is to soften the edges of the elephant to it doesn't look like it is outlined. Remember objects don't have lines around them, just changes in shape, shades and values.
Don :)

Marty C
05-07-2004, 04:59 AM
Hi Caroline,
Welcome to Wet Canvas and to the Acrylics Forum.
Very nice effort for so early in your acrylics career. Form, defintion and detail are good. As Don said, some changes in value will increase the depth and realism but great work all the same.

CazM
05-07-2004, 05:36 AM
Thankyou for your encouraging comments! :) Its always scary showing your work for the first time.

I will add some more darks as suggested. I have noticed that Acrylics seem to lighten as they dry.