PDA

View Full Version : Beginners Palette ?

Tony Perrotta
09-07-2001, 12:11 PM
Hi everybody,
I have been painting WC for a few months now. I'm curious to know what more experienced painters would recommend as my palette. I am now using 19 colors. Should I limit my palette to gain experience in color mixing. I am having trouble with WC's, and I don't thing I need to add more problems to my learning. I would apprieciate any opinions.

Thanks, Tony P.

llis
09-07-2001, 02:57 PM
With watercolors as well as any other medium, it is always good to start to learn with as few colors as you can.

If you follow the rainbow colors (ROY G BIV) you will certainly have a good basic palette that will serve you well. Then when you learn your basic palette you can add in special colors that have importance for your particular style or subjects.

Many watercolorists have different palettes set up for different uses. You will have to find the one that agrees with you. As an example.....there are many REDs that you could choose to become your RED.... you could chose cad red or maybe one of the others then add your choice of a YELLOW, and BLUE. Look and see what you already have.

I have a friend that only has one tube of watercolor. This tube is Burnt Seinna. The reason she chooses to use only this color is she is learning to handle the medium and she wants to make sure that she can learn to create the value changes she needs without the influence of additional colors. I think this is quite a challenge, but it works for her and some of her watercolors have been quite striking.

Working in three colors is also a good way to learn. Check out the Community Projects and find the link to the project called "Three Colors".