PDA

View Full Version : Jumping right in.....

ShellyF
04-21-2004, 01:54 PM
...and showing my very first acrylic painting :eek: . I usually use graphite and coloured pencils, but had the urge to try painting (even though it makes a bit more of a mess :rolleyes: ) I was terrified at first, but really enjoyed it, and I can't wait to try another one. Any comments and critiques are greatly welomed. All I have learned about acrylics if just from reading in this forum.

One thing I would like to know is how you frame acrylic paintings? Do you mat them? Do I need to put some kind of top coat of varnish, what does that do? I'm sure I will have tons of questions as I proceed so please bear with me :)

Oh, and this was done from one of Rod's beautiful pictures in the ref library.

ExpressiveAngie
04-21-2004, 02:48 PM
Shelly I am new to acrylics myself - I just want to say hi :) and that I love your painting ... keep it up!

minov
04-21-2004, 03:21 PM
Gor-geous! I like your painting, too.....I think the mess is part of the fun! :cool: Sorry I don't know the answers to your questions, I don't really paint acrylics....

Mindy

Margie L
04-21-2004, 03:29 PM
Lovely--poppy. What a great first try. I love the messy part of painting.

As for framing, it depends on what you have painted on. If you did it on paper, you could mat and then frame it. If you did it on stretched canvas then no mat obviously. As for varnish, if your paint surface is uneven (shiny spots and spots that are dull), you could spray it with an acrylic sealer to even out the sheen of the finished painting. I hope someone else jumps in here with a more informed answer to your questions. ;)

David46807
04-21-2004, 04:45 PM
Beautiful painting.

For information on varnishing I highly recommend taking a look at Golden's website. This link will take you straight to info on varnish:

http://www.goldenpaints.com/technicaldata/polvar.php