PDA

View Full Version : Novice Requires help please

guitarman
09-06-2001, 05:26 PM
I am a true beginner,and I have great problems with mixing colors.At present I am trying very hard to mix colors for an old stone church,I cannot get the color of stone right.Can anyone help Please?.Thanks

llis
09-06-2001, 06:38 PM
Because their are so many variations of stone, it would be hard to give you a color recipe that would be "THE" stone color you are looking for. On top of that, throughout each individual stone there are color variations. Pick up a stone and look hard at it and see if you can guess which colors might make up that particular stone. Then make a small color chart using those colors and try different combinations to see how the colors you choose work.

Example: A basic gray stone color might be .... Ivory black, White, Thalo Blue and some Burnt Umber. Then you might find that adding in some Burnt Sienna, Cadmium Orange, yellow Ochre, or Raw Sienna would give you the variation you want.

Again: I would suggest that you make your own color sample test page. This is one good way to learn about color anyway and you will have a record that you can refer back to the next time you need color recipes that you discover.

Start with the first colors you choose, and mix them in various parts. Example: one part white, one part black ...see how that looks...then in the next test block add in some Thalo Blue....see how that looks.... then in the next test block add in some Burnt Umber.... then in the next test block go back to your original two colors and just add some Burnt Umber without the Thalo Blue.

You have to keep testing until you find "YOUR STONE COLOR". Your stones might not be gray, they might be more in the yellow family. You just have to start with what you think your base color should be and then do little test blocks until you arrive at your solution.