PDA

View Full Version : Cotman colors?

pinkbubelz
04-16-2004, 04:13 PM
I have a set of Winsor & Newton Cotman Watercolors in a little wooden box, about 25 cakes....

I started looking around an noticed that some posts have mentioned that these are "student-grade"? I had no idea! I'm pretty new to Watercolor, but bought this box about 10 yrs ago to play around with. (and they seemed expensive at that time, too.) Now, I'm trying it out and I would like to know what people think about the Cotman Cake colors?

Or do most people use the tube colors? How does the cakes compare to the tubes? and what brands do you prefer? I know that this question might have been posed before, but would like to have some additional feedback....

--Iris

pampe
04-16-2004, 04:20 PM
They are student grade...very weak color...you will frustrate yourself trying to paint with them...get yourself some ARTIST GRADE tube colors

SEARCH HERE for old threads about brands, look at http://handprint.com, or ask away!

AND WELCOME!!!!

cdrane
04-16-2004, 04:25 PM
I've recently switched from student tubes (Academy, Cotman) to artist-quality (MaimeriBlu) - the artist grade are much better quality. Hands down - if you can get them, get them, even if you can only afford a blue, red, and a yellow.

That said, I found no problem in using the student grade. And I produced work that got compliments from people I respect. Also by using synthetic brushes, etc. So, what does this mean?

It means the materials/supplies/tools you use will not make you a good painter - practice, talent and inspiration will. Better tools will help - but it might just mean that a bad painting has brighter colors. Know what I mean?

So, my $.02 is that as soon as you can get better paints, get them. But don't expect too much out of them. After all, is Tiger Woods a great golfer because of his shoes, or his golf ball? Practice, talent and inspiration.

cdrane

Helen
04-16-2004, 04:26 PM