PDA

View Full Version : Self-portrait 12 X 18

dollardays
09-03-2001, 09:58 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/03-Sep-2001/blackdress.JPG

Any comments welcome. I'm new to acrylics. Having a hard time but still plugging along. Everyone was very helpful with my last post. I am now keeping the acrylics from drying out with spray and keeping the palette in a plastic bag. (Thanks for those tips!)

This was done from a photo and I was feeling really bad when I did it. My husband had forgotten our anniversary and I was trying to express the emotions I felt. I am not sure if they come through... ??

The chair represents my isolation. The mirror represents how I had to pretend I didn't care. Even the wallpaper symbolizes that I felt like a "wallflower" and the flowers the event.

Can anyone guess what the purse represents?

Thanks,

Nora

Firefly
09-04-2001, 08:38 AM
Let's see. This is just a guess here. Does your purse represent your pride or oyur feelings? You look like you're trying to protect it. You did a wonderful job on the painting, btw. :clap:

cchapla1
09-04-2001, 09:23 AM
Hi Nora:
I really like this. I think the composition is wonderful as well as the symbolisms . I like the subdued colors that seem to add to the feelings you had. Did he ever remember your important day? Carole:cat:

YLCIA
09-04-2001, 09:44 AM
This is a wonderful work! i can definetely see the concern expressed on the face and the strain in the body position.

Great!

PS.
Sorry for the forgetfulness of your husband , I myself had that happen to me too at least a couple of times during our 31 years together.
Julia:)

dollardays
09-04-2001, 11:12 AM
Firefly: Let's see. This is just a guess here. Does your purse represent your pride or oyur feelings? You look like you're trying to protect it.

You got it- Firefly. To me it represents my thoughts and feelings about the whole situation. The purse appears empty- like I felt at the time.