PDA

View Full Version : Some basic questions.

Jess
08-31-2001, 08:18 PM
I enjoy all these posts and paintings, although everyghing appears very dark on my old PC and monitor. Everyone seems to be so accomplished and experienced, so I'm a bit embarrassed to ask "duh-brain questions (I may be fouling up the message icons also.)

I only received one reply (which I appreciated) to a question I posted a week ago, so I'll ask again in case I can find a concensus.

What is the best method to paint mist or fog? As an illustration to help frame it visually: Assume I have some trees in the background I wish to appear shrounded in fog or morning mist. Would I paint them a very light color to begin with? Let them dry before attempting any kind of wash? How much of what colors would one mix?

2nd Q: What is the best method to make a background blended, from light to dark, or visa versa? Use very liquid paint? Thinned with what? Medium? Which is best suited? How runny should the paint be? Or should it be applied straight from mixed colors of varying degrees of lightening? I tried both. Only got a blotchy effect. Extremely difficult to have a line-less, smooth transition.

Any help would be tremendously appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Jess

Verdaccio
09-01-2001, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by Jess
I enjoy all these posts and paintings, although everyghing appears very dark on my old PC and monitor. Everyone seems to be so accomplished and experienced, so I'm a bit embarrassed to ask "duh-brain questions (I may be fouling up the message icons also.)

I only received one reply (which I appreciated) to a question I posted a week ago, so I'll ask again in case I can find a concensus.