PDA

View Full Version : When is a Series a Line??

Barrie
03-31-2004, 03:58 PM
Hi guys!
This is something I've been pondering for a bit. I make mostly one of a kind silver jewelry, have done for many, many years (okay, 10, but who's counting!). Anyway, how the heck do you figure if something is a line or a series? And how long can a line or series continue?

I have a few tried and true series (lines?) that I make, a couple of which have been going on for years now! My sticks & stones rings for example. I've been making them for about 6 years. I still like making them. They are still my best selling items. And to this day, almost every single one is a one of a kind. But when is it time to say enough is enough? I don't want the owners of these rings thinking they're mass produced, but after this many years, I know there's lots of them out there! I recently started selling in Ontario (the opposite end of the country!), and of course, the sticks & stones are selling famously. So I guess it makes sense to keep making them. So are these a line or are they a series?

And what do you guys do with pieces that you make that don't sell? Especially the lines or series that you figure will sell like hot cakes, and sit there like lumps? Years ago I had a series that sank like a battleship. I made 36 rings, of those original 36, I sold 4, made 4 custom ones, and the rest just sat there. So after about three years, I tore the darn things apart, and tossed the silver. Well, darned if eople didn't start suggesting I make something similar! Yeesh!!

Anyway, just the ramblings of a procrastinator, who should get off her butt and go back to work!!

glitterbead
03-31-2004, 04:40 PM