PDA

View Full Version : Oh my Acrylics are not my thing.

Luvy
08-31-2001, 10:28 AM
I bought some acrylics last weekend and thought today is the day I would try them. I started to paint a background of just ultramarine blue and white mixture and I can't get it to blend It looks terrible. What am I doing wrong? Besides everything LOL

bug
08-31-2001, 11:37 AM
Hi Luvy, I haven't been working with acrylics that long and I am self taught but it's been my experience that you don't really mix them at least not on the canvas. (at times) but usually I use the true color and I allow one color to dry before adding another color. They dry very fast so it's not a long time between. I'll try to find a ex. to post for you! Hope this helps.:D

bug
08-31-2001, 11:46 AM
I've had watercolor paints for a while now and always admired all those nice paintings I see, well yesterday I sat down and thought I would give it a try not a serious try but I wanted to give working with that type paint a try. (he-he) this is the terrible result but you have to keep at it until your more familiar with how the materials work.:rolleyes:

IRDOC
08-31-2001, 12:08 PM
You have to use a blending medium such as blending white
and I also wet the canvas to allow blending of my acrylics.
Keep trying it gets better........
Doc

Christie
08-31-2001, 12:26 PM
You have such a store of natural talent that you will figure this out!:)

Probably your biggest asset is that you are not afraid to ask questions. Keep it up and you may find acrylics get easier. :)

sassybird
09-01-2001, 05:48 AM