PDA

View Full Version : I've ruined my painting. Can you help me rescue it?

zombeezee
03-30-2004, 03:05 AM
Im very new to oil painting and painting all together. this is my second painting Ive don in an attameot to egt used to using brushes etc.
I've tried to paint this seascape - following some lessons I learnt from a seascape painter book by a geezer called Robinson. I was very happy last night with the upper half of the painting (the breaking wave and sky) but have just ruined it with the foreground sea. The lines of pale colour look terrible (In the darker waves at the front-sticking out like very sore thumbs)
I thought maybe my first ever attempt at glazing (over this with a dark blue similar to the base) might make the lines more subtle. Or is there something else I could try?

Thanks

zombeezee
03-30-2004, 03:31 AM
NB 1 of the boys in oils suggested I might post it here for help. Sorry to those who have suffered it in the oils forum. Its a 20x16 oil on board. Ta

zombeezee
03-30-2004, 03:36 AM
Stupidly forgot to put n the pic

VeldaJ
03-30-2004, 03:37 AM
Sorry, Zombeezee but there's no picture showing. Perhaps you could try uploading it again.

CarolChretien
03-30-2004, 07:51 AM
I am not a "marine" artist but when I paint water I usually have a range of hues. I paint in layers, you can use some opaque glazes to cover your lines.
I think introducing some blue greens might help, in layers, but I find it difficult to give someone else advice.

do you have a reference pic that you can post?

I like the way you are painting this piece and with oils you have so much time to add and subtract...try not to think of "ruining a painting"...approach it boldly and try out different things. You can always wipe out and start again.
That is the beauty of oils :D

If all else fails, you can use it as a "study" for the next one.
I have done this and have not looked back. It takes the fear out of painting for me.
:)

VeldaJ
03-30-2004, 10:58 AM