PDA

View Full Version : Design and Composition?

jacy
03-28-2004, 07:57 PM
Just joined this forum and I've been enjoying going through the archives. As I'm relatively new at assembling beaded jewelry one topic that really interests me is the Design and Composition forum. It pretty much is focused on canvas, however, and I wondered if anyone would be interested in building a discussion relative to jewelry making.

I think some basic design concepts are universal, such as working in odd-number groupings, but are there any other 'rules' when putting together bracelets, necklaces, and the like?

~Jacy

TheBlueBetween
03-28-2004, 08:12 PM
Welcome to WC :)

Here is a link that might help you out - I don't have the energy to do more than cut and paste right now, but I hope to stop back another day and contribute more on this topic... or learn a few things myself ;)

http://www.polymerclaycentral.com/pcc_bangle2.html

and a list of links aimed toward beginners:
http://jewelrymaking.about.com/cs/beginners/

Pam

glitterbead
03-28-2004, 08:21 PM
Welcome Jacy!!!

When I design, I love lots of contrast - etched beads with Swarovski crystals, mixed metals, acid colors with Swarovski pearls, AND I even love assymetry - anything to make the piece one-of-a-kind!!! I must also state here that I BREAK lots of so-called design rules, and my jewelry is not for the masses.

beclectic
03-28-2004, 09:37 PM
asym=asymmetry
<snip>
The thing about asym is knowing how to work with empty space, balance and color. (I'm going to reference a bangle of mine posted earlier since it's already uploaded)