PDA

View Full Version : Tips for the bay?

Chameleon Jewels
03-26-2004, 02:53 PM
I am going to try again although I haven't had any sucess with e-bay. Bead stores are who buy my beads mostly. I have a young child and don't want to drive all over the place. If any of you have any tips, pointers or dos and don'ts please lend your expertise. Ideas about pricing are welcome too. THANK YOU
Sky :confused:

Hal
03-26-2004, 02:57 PM
I am just getting started on eBay too, so I am also eager to hear what others have to say. If they tell me enough times, it might sink in! :eek:

I liked your photo. Did you do the metal work? Do you think you could do a thread in the technical forum letting us know how you did it from beginning to end?

Thanks!

Hal

Orca
03-26-2004, 03:19 PM
1) In some cases it can help to buy on eBay for awhile before just jumping in.....you will have some feedback, and can get a "feel" for how it works without risking your "selling" ID.

2) Spend some time on the eBay forums. You don't have to post, but you will learn a great deal just by reading. In particular, the "Auction Listings" and "Feedback" forums are full of useful information.

3) Wait until your work is comparable to the average work that's out there. I know that this is hard to judge, but I waited a long time. I had sets that I had thought I would sell, and months later as my skill increased, I was very glad that I had waited. What I'm trying to say is.....don't have your reputation as a beadmaker based on your early, less expert creations.

4) Understand that eBay is a tricky, fickle selling environment. Although some people enjoy immediate success, they are the exception, not the rule. This area of beadmaking is becoming increasingly competitive, and it takes time to develop a style, build a clientele, attract a following.

5) Always have something up for auction. Always.