PDA

View Full Version : Any advice on trying Alkyds?

Rae
08-26-2001, 04:33 PM
I recently bought some W&N Alkyds, but have a few questions about using them. Can I mix them with my oil paint to speed drying? Is there anything I should be carefull of in doing this? What is your opinion of Alkyds vs. Oils? Any opinions, advice or warnings would be appreciated. Please, keep it simple as I am a relative beginner. Thanks.

rebob
08-26-2001, 08:41 PM
W&N says that you can mix alkyds with traditional oils, or use them underneath the oils, but they recomment not applying over the oils.

I got this information from the W&N "Oil Colour Book" which is very informative and you can download directly from their website.

I've got no personal experience using alkyds, I'm waiting for my 3 free sample tubes they advertised in "The Artists Magazine" (July issue I believe).

good luck!

timelady
08-27-2001, 02:36 PM
I agree, they're fine but use them under regular oil paint layers (if you're going to use both) because it's 'lean'er paint. I know a couple people who underpaint with the alkyds. I have some alkyd medium which I'm trying - it makes it a little easier because I can just add a bit to the oils and get used to the drying properties. (although I don't intend to use them more than occassionally) :)

Tina.

Einion
08-27-2001, 03:48 PM
Rae, alkyds tend to be very transparent compared to oils so they are ideal for glazing techniques. They are also good for impasto work as alkyd medium is much more resistant to cracking over time than linseed oil.

You may come across mention (particularly online) of potential problems with adhesion between layers with alkyd paints, or with Liquin and other alkyd mediums when used with oil paints. Personally, I suggest you take most of this with a pinch of salt, maybe do some tests of your own and decide for yourself.