PDA

View Full Version : So, here's a painting

Keith
08-24-2001, 05:30 PM
If anyone would like to critique this, it is a painting of yuccas at WhiteSands, New Mexico. It was painted from a photograph I took. I am particuarly disillusioned with the clouds, plus the stalk and flower on the rear yucca aren't very convincing. Thoughts?

http://www.unm.edu/~keithw/pictures/paintings/yuccas.jpg

Keith
08-26-2001, 02:14 PM
Is anyone going to give me any feedback?

DPaulson
08-26-2001, 03:52 PM
Hi Keith,

I am a new member here, and I am not a critic. I have been painting in oils for nearly 25 yrs. I can give you some of my ideas Keith! I too paint from photo's and just posted in the landscape forum on one of my acrylics. We don't have to paint the photo as seen but add our own colours.

I would use a small touch of yellow ochre, and alizarin crimson to your clouds. lighten them where the sun hits them. White is ok in some places but not in a summer scene so much. I use a touch of blue-purple or blue-gray in the shadows of the plants, add some very light blue colour to the sand. I normally make the horizon a lighter blue giving the painting more depth. I know your photo shows the white sand and one can still keep it that way if that is what you like! Depth is what we like to show in a painting, there are many different ways of doing that, and you can learn so much from Johannes Vloothius forum on landscape and design.

Hope to hear from you!

YLCIA
08-26-2001, 05:07 PM
Keith, I am not much of the critic. I do like your painting in general.I paint myself just barely for 3 years.But I think that DPaulson gave you great advises.

From what I see the front yucca plant looks very nice but the rear one needs some more work on it.
The ski is too bright blue, reminds me of my first landscape work . I also was advised not to take photo literally. I am happy to report that I took that advise to use:D .

Happy painting,

Julia

dcheek
08-27-2001, 12:36 AM
Keith,