PDA

View Full Version : What is a "Working Knowledge" where color is concerned?

LarrySeiler
02-20-2004, 05:48 PM
I'll attempt to be appropriate and begin a new thread with this question, shiftng my promptings from another thread and apologies to those involved there.

As a painter I've been approached a number of times with requests to explain my use of color. Some evidently admiring my work.

When I agreed to become a moderator for this forum, I suppose I felt I had a good sound working knowledge of color. Of course duties to help keep the peace so-to-speak do not necessarily require a moderator to be an expert in the area.

I would say I believed myself to be fairly an expert as an artist, professional even...but suffice it to say perhaps my place (rather than expertise) must necessarily be relegated to the kind of work I do or those that might aspire a close promity to work I do. Perhaps sufficient even to levels which as an educator I teach, which would be K-12 and various adult workshops.

Since this forum has been in existence and having the opportunity to lurk and participate, I realize that my offerings for color understanding are perhaps metaphorically compared to one that might write a comic book versus s/he that would write a novel. The length, breadth, and depth of understanding here shared so generously in this forum is truly a marvel.

So...since what I do seems to work as a painter...well, a painter of my level anyway, and since what I teach to others seems to work for them (at their level anyway) it causes me to wonder what might constitute an acceptable working knowledge?

Is it a feeling that if one is not up on the theories, does not have a collection of color theory books on one's shelves that at best one might be a hobbyist at painting? Is it possible to be a master painter...and not a color theorist? Or, would some say we are all theorists to some degree?