PDA

View Full Version : Painting on leather skates

ausiland
08-19-2001, 01:08 PM
Hi, this is my first time here ( if you don't count when I tried to do this last night), and I have a question for everyone.

Is any special preparation required to paint on skates other than washing and sealing?

Thanks for any help. Bev

paintinpat
08-21-2001, 06:10 PM
HI and welcome. I have painted on leather skates and just cleaned well, sprayed with sealer and had a go at it. Mine were always for decoration only, I would tie the laces together so they could hang nicely and paint a snow scene on one and usually put welcome and a design on the other. I had a pair hanging on the fence as you came into my shop for about 2-3 years and I only took them down because I was tired of them. Even in the weather they held up nicely. Good luck, are you going to decorate them and use them to skate?

Pat

ausiland
08-26-2001, 04:06 PM
Hi Paintinpat: That's what I finally did. I'm not going to wear them, they're just for decoration. Good to know someone else prepared them the same way and it worked just fine.:)

tammy
09-25-2001, 12:51 AM
Can't resist responding to this thread. I actually had some old black roller skates and just for the heck of it I painted on em with acrylic just as they were. I skated in them too and that was years ago. The paint is still there just fine :D. I quit skating about 4 years ago when I had my first broken arm from roller blading. I had just learned how to do it too. :(
(In fact, it was my first broken bone ever and I'm 43.

leesmith
09-25-2001, 02:12 AM
Hey Aussie,

The August issue of Painting magazine had some painted skates! I've never seen them, but I think people will paintin on ANYTHING and WHY NOT?

Tammy,