PDA

View Full Version : First portrait of my daughter

Shey
08-17-2001, 08:03 PM
O.K. here she is finally. She's not done as I am having a terrible time doing her hair! She has VERY curly hair, little ringlets on the right side with just waves on the left. All in all, I don't think she's too bad. I am having sooooooo much fun with these pastels!!! Somehow, when I download a painting it loses a little in the translation but please let me know what you all think about her. This is Erin Brooke at 9 years old.

Victor
08-18-2001, 05:17 PM
I'm no expert on portraits but this looks absolutely beautiful to me. The hair is good and the little t Shirt is great. I'm having trouble with the right eye though (her left ) there is something not quite right about it, its not as crystal clear as the left one ( her right ) Hasn't she got lovely eyes though. Overall a very nice one....:clap:

Victor....

Shey
08-18-2001, 08:42 PM
Thanks for the nice comments. I'm having a hard time with her hair. She has curls like you wouldn't believe! I took the picture of her painting with my digital camera as she is too large to scan, and for some reason when I download her onto my pc, she comes out really light. So I had to darken her using my computer and I think thats why her eye looks weird. Some of her coloring is off a little too due to the darkening.
Oh well.....maybe some day I'll take time off from painting to learn to use all my "High Tech" toys!!

thanks again!

Shey

Victor
08-19-2001, 05:23 AM
You are welcome Shey, I know what you mean about the camera, I have the same trouble and I suppose it all boils down to the fact that you have to get the best camera you can afford so that there is little need to enhance the image with a computer. The camera I would like is made by kodak and sells for somewhere in the region of 6,000.00, thats $8,644.00. A little out of my reach. At the moment ,that is.

Victor....

Bobbie
08-21-2001, 12:02 PM