lgol27
01-29-2004, 02:41 PM
Name : Self-Creating
Medium : oil pastels on paper
Size : 19 x 24 inch

any comments?

christmascarolnz
01-29-2004, 03:27 PM
Hello Igol. Interesting and colourful painting. I'm not an abstract artist, but I like your painting.
I noticed that one of your 'petals' has more shading in it than the others - the bottom viewer's left circle. Is this intentional? It looks quite neat.
I guess you could shade them all in different ways to make the petals look dimensional ...but I guess that's the fun in painting abstract - you can do whatever you want.
Good on you. :clap: :clap:
Carol

Dyin
01-29-2004, 04:00 PM
Like I said before, your titles lean me towards looking at it a certain way...this one makes me think of fallopian tubes and the egg it just created. Since I mostly work with realism, could you tell us about how you approach this and what your thought processes are??? Might give me a better understanding of abstract work. Thanks!

ArtsiePhartsie
01-29-2004, 04:46 PM
Like I said before, your titles lean me towards looking at it a certain way...this one makes me think of fallopian tubes and the egg it just created. Since I mostly work with realism, could you tell us about how you approach this and what your thought processes are??? Might give me a better understanding of abstract work. Thanks!

LOL Dyin.....It makes me think of the same thing ...Somtimes I think my ovaries are having wars in there....it's definately NOT a peaceful feeling....I wish it WAS more like this painting...gentle, relaxed and peaceful.

I too would like to understand more of the thought process behind abstract work...it intrigues me.

~Artise
(43 almost...can ya tell ) :D

Dyin
01-29-2004, 05:07 PM
LOL Dyin.....It makes me think of the same thing ...Somtimes I think my ovaries are having wars in there....it's definately NOT a peaceful feeling....I wish it WAS more like this painting...gentle, relaxed and peaceful.