PDA

View Full Version : Minatures

Saau_Hatshepsut
08-08-2001, 10:01 AM
Hi all, just wanting to know a little about minatures... Does anyone here do them? What size are they supposed to be? Any particular medium? etc... I'm pretty much a novice, so any information is appreciated.
Thanks,

Saau.

Minibrush
08-09-2001, 09:04 AM
Hi Saau_

I do miniature landscapes in oils and watercolor, also sculpt wildlife and other pieces from polymer clays. I've been entering the miniature competitions in the USA for a few years now, and their guidlines are often the same or similar as the international competitions.

Here's an overview of what is considered "miniature". First, the 1/6 scale rule, in that your subject matter should not be any larger than 1/6 it's actual size. A portrait head would not be more than 1 1/2" (3.8cm) in height.

Most competitions request the image not be larger than 25 sq. inches ( 160 sq. cm), frames not to exceed 56 sq. inches (360 sq. cm).

Mats and frames must be delicate and in proportion to the work.

People work on a variety of supports. Ivory, (with restrictions on Ivory, most people just use old piano keys for supply) Ivorine (artificial ivory "looking" plastic sheets that can be cut to size), polymin (like Ivorine, but thinner), masonite, metals, primed silk, and probably many more.

There are some marvelous web sites to find more information, including shows, materials and classes.
There are some marvelous web sites to find more information, including shows, materials and classes. This is a great one to start with, plus they have links to many other societies, worldwide

The Hilliard Society of Miniaturists.

http://www.art-in-miniature.org/

Good luck,
Minibrush

Saau_Hatshepsut
08-09-2001, 09:23 AM
Thanks for that, I'll check out the site.
I've mostly only heard minatures being referred to as paintings, and was wondering if pen and inks also qualified, if remaining under the size limit.
Thanks for your reply,

Saau.

Minibrush