PDA

View Full Version : OT Funny Story About How I Learn Computers.

prtpix
01-14-2004, 11:07 PM
OKey Dokey,
Let me start by saying that computers always fastinated me.
I did not really have access to one until around 1994 when my husband bought an old Apple IIc at an auction for $20.00.
When I saw him bring that thing home I was so excited.
I thought he would help me hook it up and get it running.
He said he did not know anything about them and could not help me set it up.
So, I studied the book that came along with it and got the thing up and running. Got it all hooked up and the software loaded.
Now, You have to remember that this was just me by myself learning how to use a computer.
So, Setting up everything was really good. I used it for months to make advertising flyers for my artwork and shows I was doing locally.
Then I guess it was maybe 4 months after I had gotten really comfortable with the Apple IIc a neighbor of mine was over to celebrate my one sons birthdays with us. While he was here. I showed him my ancheint Apple IIc.
He said to me, You really got everything down pretty well Mariann.
But, I need to ask you why you use the mouse backwards like that?
Now, Take your mouse and turn it around so that the cord/tail comes out towards you and by your wrist. This is how I had been using the mouse for I would say at least 4 months. If you try this, you will notice that if you move the mouse left, the cursor goes right, if you move the mouse right, the cursor goes left and if you move the mouse up, the cursor goes down and visa versa.
So, for the first 4 months of using my first computer I taught myself how to use the computer the way I thought it was suppose to be used. But, I was wrong. That mouse tail is suppose to go away from you and towards the computer and then when you move the mouse the cursor moves in the same direction as you move the mouse.
LOL Nobody told me this. I didn't ask, Because I didn't see anything wrong with it.