PDA

View Full Version : Mischievous Katie WIP OPs

eileenclaire
01-11-2004, 05:19 PM
I'm just getting started on another portrait, and would love for some ideas on a background. This is Katie at 16 months, getting into something she shouldn't be, as usual, grinning her devilish grin. The background in the picture is a couch. I've got the drawing done and will transfer it to Canson oyster paper (the only color I have!). I don't want to start on it until I'm sure what I want to do for the background. And that's where you come in. Will you help me out please? What would you do if this were yours? Keep that couch as a background, do something more abstract? And what about colors? Any ideas you can give on this would be so greatly appreciated!!!

Dark_Shades
01-11-2004, 05:44 PM
awwww shes a darling...... and look at that impish grin..... can see why you want to do this one..... well, Im not very good at this sort of thing.... but I think I would go for something quite darkly mottled... suggesting, perhaps shes by bushes out in the garden..... will watch with interest ..... Im sure it will turn out beautiful what ever you do

Dyin
01-11-2004, 06:10 PM
Well, first if I was doing this I would drop the pattern in the shirt OR go check out Diane's article... http://www.wetcanvas.com/Articles2/1458/410/ as she shows how to downplay patterns in it...
I think with her lovely reddish hair and the yellowy/green tones in her skin I'd think of a nice darkish green in the background...you could do an unfocused type folliage, but would not go too light.
Then I'd think of what the color of the shirt should be...I'd take it to photoshop and play with different combos of shirts and backgrounds...if you were to keep the pattern I'd mute it down some.
And lastly, she needs something to be a prop for her hand...and that I'm a little stumped on...it needs to fit and not take away from her...or are you planning on adding the bits of fingers not showing???