PDA

View Full Version : Hello from India!

Cheena K
01-09-2004, 08:00 AM
Hi!
I just did this quick sketch of my dog ( b.t.w his name is muttley!) from a photograph. I want to make it in pastels, but have used watercolor for the underpainting (it's a very quick and somewhat incomplete thing as of now). I know the colors are not very realistic. Finally gathered some courage to post my first sketch , pl. give me some tips. I am still a beginner...

Getting a li'l apprehensive now...very new to pastels...I think I'll make it on a pastel sheet instead, this one is a cartridge from my sketch book...

Thanks!
Cheena

Madder
01-09-2004, 08:09 AM
Hi and Welcome!
This is a LOVELY portrait. Not only a good rendering of dog but the expression is terrific and so touching. You also let the watercolor medium work for you, those brushstrokes really work well for the hair. I bet you could do something similar with pastels, side strokes, nice and confident.
Hope to see a pastel version soon!
Madder

Dyin
01-09-2004, 09:28 AM
Hi Cheena! Welcome to the forum....this guy is just oozing with character and would translate sooooo well with pastels! Using good paper will help hold layers better and I think really that it will come out very well after seeing this. You managed to catch a lot without overworking it. Don't be nervous...everyone here is really friendly and helpful. Looking forward to seeing your progress!

Kathryn Wilson
01-09-2004, 09:54 AM
Hi! A very nice and loose painting - you obviously were very confident in what you were doing and it shows. Just think of that pastel stick as a paintbrush and let it flow. :clap:

Dark_Shades
01-09-2004, 12:12 PM
Hi and Welcome...... yes can definately see the lovely water colour style in this..... you will be amazed when you start using Pastel Papers... dont forget to try out the textured kind too ........ nice work..... reminds me of Arcanjo's :)

eileenclaire
01-09-2004, 02:34 PM