PDA

View Full Version : New to Wet Canvas. Hello!

W. Howard Moore
01-03-2004, 01:13 PM
Hey everyone. I really have enjoyed reading the posts here for the last few weeks and looking at all the beautiful art work. I've been working with pastels for about three years now and fell in love with the medium.
I'm posting a painting that I just finished (haven't come up with a title yet). It was done on Canson paper mainly with Rembrants and Schmeinkes. The actual size of the piece is 16 x 20.
Any comments or critiques ya'll give would be appreciated.

Hope everyone has a great new year!!:D

angecald
01-03-2004, 01:40 PM
Hello, Howard,welcome to the Forum. I love this. The colours juxtaposed against white faces, the contrasted textures, the sense of movement and mystery. Could we see more of your work, please?

DGrau
01-03-2004, 02:06 PM
New to Wet Canvas. Hello!

Any comments or critiques ya'll give would be appreciated.

~ Hello and welcome from another new member.
I am really enjoying this piece very much. Nice use of technique and primary colors, really think everything works well in this painting. The painting really stirs up emotions in me which I really enjoy.
One thing though which I find somewhat bothersome to me is the nose and lips of the central face is a bit off. Though they line up with each other, they don't seem to line up with the tilt of the head correctly.
Checked out your web site..some very nice work there, looking forward to seeing more.
Best regards,
David

Dark_Shades
01-03-2004, 02:19 PM
Very Unusual, and Unique..... well done...... welcome to the forum
...... love the textures and colours

kimo
01-03-2004, 02:25 PM
Wow - this is really nice! I just love the colors and the textures in this! In a way this is a kind of spooky painting, but in a good way. If that makes sense. I don't know, to me, there's always been something spooky about masks. You just never know what is behind them! :D

W. Howard Moore
01-03-2004, 03:26 PM