PDA

View Full Version : Daffodils

T-Rex
07-31-2001, 10:07 AM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/31-Jul-2001/daffodil_closeup.jpg

Did this in watercolor on masa paper then sealed it w/ matte acrylic medium, image is a close-up (scans don't seem to show how these appear to "float")

All comments welcomed and appreciated:) ...Karen

Javier
07-31-2001, 11:19 AM
Karen, very nice. But how do you turn out such quality work in such a short time -- this is a rhetorical question.

Like the colors.
Question, most 'daffodils' have five pedal and a horn -- did you paint this from a photo or a live plant?

The Best,

Leaflin
07-31-2001, 12:27 PM
OK that does it!
Next time I'm in town I am going to get some Masa paper.
You have won me over.
The colours sing.
Beautiful piece Karen.

NeerlysGal
07-31-2001, 12:41 PM
Karen,
This is AWESOME!:clap:
I am very very new to watercolor. I have not painted till I started taking lessons about 2 months ago. I have been very impressed by your work. If I could just have a 10th of your skill. I have the passion! I hope that will direct me. I wish I could quit my job and just paint all day:)

I log on each day hoping to see some of your awesome work:D

PJL
07-31-2001, 01:56 PM
I'm with leaflin..... gotta try this masa paper stuff..
this is wonderful.. such vibrant colours.

please keep inspiring me.

chickadee
07-31-2001, 05:03 PM
Hey Karen, your daffodils are inspiring! :)

I have a ques :
How did you save the whites of the crumpled & soaked masa paper when you were flowing the paints over it?

Did you use inks here or the watercolors?

Thanks.

Studio224
07-31-2001, 06:36 PM
Jeez..... I can't wait to get my hands on Masa paper... It's unbelievable!

Karen, I love that!

Anne-Claire

Katee
07-31-2001, 08:37 PM
A Lovely painting of one of my favourite flowers.

What is MASA paper, I haven't heard of it here in the UK

Karen :)

Rich Williams
07-31-2001, 09:22 PM