PDA

View Full Version : Very Basic Watercolor Questions

khibbert
10-24-2000, 12:28 AM
I am a newbie at watercolor, while I have some great reference books (and several good websites including this one), I have 2 questions:

1. I have basic tubes of color, how do you go about mixing them with water initially? What are the guidelines/rules?

2. The color mixing is confusing me, so I'm interested in painting "black and whites" to get down some of the brush strokes and the layering of the wash. What mixed colors (I have lemon yellow, 2 blues, 1 red, 1 cadium) make gradients of gray and black?

3. And/Or who knows of a really, really basic color mixing resource that won't confuse me?

Any other tips anyone has to offer would be helpful.
Thanks in advance.

VictoriaS
10-24-2000, 02:11 AM
I usually start with maybe four or five drops of water (I use an eyedropper, or you can just drip it in from a cup) in an amount of paint about the size of two or three peas, I guess. I mix the paint and water together with a palette knife, so as not to get any big blobs of undiluted paint on my brush.

To mix grays and blacks, you need all three primaries (red, yellow, and blue), or two colors that are opposite each other on the color wheel: red/green; yellow/violet; blue/orange, basically.

I hope this answers.

Victoria

nancymae
10-24-2000, 09:27 AM
Glad that you are learning watercolor!! Please don't be afraid of it...and know that there are no hard and fast rules. The best way to learn the water/paint ratio is to play with it. Make some color studies for yourself...see how the blues react with just a little water...add more water...then put in an orange...or red. Just see what happens. You can even notate your swatches to form your own color experiment chart. Then you will know how you made the color.