PDA

View Full Version : Online pastel classes?

annie40150
12-20-2003, 08:28 PM
Hi everyone!
I am just starting out, and playing around with pastels I bought at wal-mart. I also bought some colored pencils, and some acrylics. Trying to decide which one to pursue. I really feel that I am enjoying pastels the best at this time-I like the way they blend.. (haven't tried the acrylics yet-think I'll wait on those).
Anyway, I reallly like the books, online courses and videos, etc. that are available for colored pencil, by Ann Kullberg, and Bet Borgeson. Is there anything like this available for pastel? I would really like the more structured instruction, and at this point I would only choose CP for that reason.
Also, if I did choose to start with CP, are the techniques in any way similar? What about compositions using both?
Thanks you guys for any advice.
This is the best cyber place ever.

annie40150
12-20-2003, 09:55 PM
The above dog I did mostly in pastels. I tried more colored pencil on this beach scene. But I got really bored with it quickly, so I just quit! At least I have learned that I don't have alot of patience.

I just don't know what to do! I really want to learn. I think I enjoy doing the animals the most. That beach scene just bored me to death, but doing the dogs, I enjoyed working on their expressions.

I respect all you guys talent sooo much!
Please give me some advice!
Anna

tammy
12-21-2003, 01:46 AM
Hi,
I'm just starting with Pastel Pencil and while using them find myself using them with CP techniques learned from Ann Kulberg's book!

Dyin
12-21-2003, 02:11 AM
Wecome to the pastel forum! I'm sure someone can tell you about videos etc. Your puppy is so cute...you should check out the project on here about whites...you can really liven white up with color! I love the perspective of the beach scene! If you popped a little red in with those green palm leaves it would also liven it up...hope you keep with the pastels..you'll love the things they can do!