PDA

View Full Version : Autumn blizzard

billrspc
12-12-2003, 05:28 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/12-12-2003/7882_Autumn_blizzard_1_wc.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Autumn blizzard
Year Created: 2003
Medium: Oil
Surface: Board
Dimension: 12x16
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
still practicing my knife techniques on this little fall scene from down the road... is it to rough???

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I have read that the three most important elements in a good painting are 1. composition 2. value and 3. color.. it that order
I am self taught and I feel that my composition skills could really improve. any suggestions in that area or any other suggestions are welcome! Thanks

jerryW
12-12-2003, 06:13 AM
I like the impressionist integrity and impact of this
the fence seems the most clear and may dominate
will that matter?

roberj
12-12-2003, 12:06 PM
Compositionaly, I think it may have been better without the fence. The fence and the reinforcement of the curbing or roadway serve to separate the viewer from the scene. It is certainly not a fatal flaw and I like the painting. My favorite part is the play of reflected light and color on the sides of the building and the background under the trees. Both of these areas are very well done. The higher foliage near the top of the painting looks a little too intense in color value, but it is hard to judge the values from a computer screen and they mau read well in life. The painting looks a lot like Kincade without the obnoxious special effects. Mention of Kincade usually brings a sneer, but I meant it as a compliment. If you take away his "lights", sentimentality, and his sometimes wonky perspective, he does paint with a wonderful flair.

Bob

jackiesimmonds
12-12-2003, 12:18 PM