07-23-2001, 12:27 PM
<CENTER>

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/23-Jul-2001/apport.jpg

acrylic • Alla Prima Portrait • 17" x 14"
(please do not alter image)

</CENTER>

Fagan
07-23-2001, 01:50 PM
This is wonderful Chuck! I am not a portrait artist so would not be able to give you a very good critique...but I know what I like...*SMILE* this is very good work. The only thing to my untrained eye is the right eye needs more of an eyelid. This "alla prima" style has caught my attention....would like to try it.

ZOTMA
07-23-2001, 04:06 PM
I agree with Fagan about the eye, but you seem to have a signature way of dealing with eyes. I particularly like the treatment of the hair and the mouth/lines of the cheek. I can't tell you how much I love looking at your alla primas (I leave them Up at length). I guess I'll have to tell you every time you post one.

jerryW
07-23-2001, 04:49 PM
the seemingly unimportant activity in the upperleft corner of canvas gets echoed in the cheek and then the whole painting opens up nicely for me.

very satisfying.

jheinrich
07-23-2001, 07:23 PM
hey chuck-

I enjoy this one, especially the hair and the greys throughout ... I agree re: the one eye seems unmatched.

I would love to know the pallette that you use, especially if you are using a transparent white ...

thanks if ya care to expand.

j*

dornberg
07-23-2001, 07:25 PM
quite a strong composition,
and not such a simple one
the upper horizontal light
connected to the lower, thinnner, horizontal light
by the vertical light,
within which are contained three small facial darks,
like the three lark background darks
this strong construction contains
a diagonal from upper right to lower left

result - simple, strong, interesting

JeanineJ
07-23-2001, 08:09 PM
Thick and juicy portraiture... basically cool aura about your model seems to suit her... Sculptural feeling, well-established planes, colors in shadows are so well done! I know I shall be visiting her again...

Chuck