PDA

View Full Version : Pastels sticks and pencils

marioz
09-10-2019, 11:24 AM
I'm a beginner with pastels. I've decided to try this technique because, as far as I can see, it's a kind of "bridge" between drawing and painting. My main tool will be a set of 90 Rembrandt soft pastels (general selection, half length), but I suppose I will also need some "color pencils", because I like to put some sharp details here and there in my paintings.
So I have a couple of questions:

1) which kind of pencils can be used together with soft pastel sticks? I guess dry pastels (like Faber-Castell Pitt pastels) are the most natural choice, but is it possible to use also oily/waxy pastel pencils like Polychromos or Luminance? Do soft pastels blend and layer nicely with waxy pencils? Or is it better to stick to dry pastels?

2) in general, I don't buy super-expensive, top quality products: a decent/good one is enough for me. But I really hate fugitive colors: what's the point of putting my efforts in a painting which is going to fade after a short time? (I don't care about centuries; I've seen paintings fade in months or just a few years). So, with lightfastness as a main requirement, which brand of dry pastels would you recommend? I've done some research on the internet, but I was not very satisfied. For example, I went to the Pitt Pastel pencil page at the Faber-Castell web-site. I downloaded the product PDF (Art & Graphic - Artistsí products and their uses) and looked for the lightfastness information (it's in the last pages). For the same color, Pitt pastels are often less lightfast than Polychromos. Look for a bright scarlet red: the only available Pitt pastel is n. 118, which is rated *; the same Polychromos is rated *** (maximum lightfastness). This is Faber-Castell - definitely one of the most serious and high-quality brand - but I've seen something similar with other brands.