PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with monotype inks

drd
11-17-2003, 04:18 PM
Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum but not new to printmaking... although it's been a while. I was a printmaking major for my BFA (1985) and then didn't get back to it, worked in mixed media after that. Most of my experience is with intaglio.

I recently bought a little press for my house and a good selection of Createx monotype inks. I have made (quite a while ago) monotypes with oil based inks and didn't have the problems I'm having with my zinc plates not releasing ink. I've used the base coat, I've added dish soap, I've dried the plates completely, I've soaked my Arches Cover sufficiently and blotted...and still there are small areas of the plates that just don't transfer. I'm getting a tad FRUSTRATED! I've adjusted the pressure on the press; passed my plates several times. You name it (I think) I've done it!

I probably shouldn't get too deep about this but as an art teacher, I wasn't crazy about other Createx products. I had trouble finding other waterbased inks. Actually, I bought the Createx and then found Akua waterbased inks which seem interesting.

I'm looking for suggestions. Anyone prefer one ink over another? I want to stay waterbased. I'll be living in Europe over the summer and will be taking the press and my stuff. I really don't want to get involved with solvents here or over there.

The prints I have, although spotty in some areas, I will use with hand coloring so all is not lost but I'd prefer to get good transfers one of these days. What do you all use to clean the plates? Some of this ink just won't let go of the plates. Spots again.

Thanks for any suggestions. Dorie

Diane Cutter
11-17-2003, 06:17 PM
Dorie--