PDA

View Full Version : That old question again!

Irishman
04-07-2019, 06:52 AM
Does anyone on the forum, using ‘traditional oils’ paint solvent free? I know there is the ‘ loads of things are solvents’ argument but I’m talking of solvents as they are generally thought of. I’m not too concerned about the cleaning but the thinning. Thank you.

DMSS
04-07-2019, 08:51 AM
I have experimented just a little bit with oils, and I also wish to paint solvent-free. So far, the most satisfactory experience I have had is to paint the first, very lean layer with water mixable oils using water as a thinner, and then regular oils with no medium (just some added walnut oil if needed) for subsequent layers. But, please take this with a grain of salt because I am no expert -- I did one painting this way.

Irishman
04-07-2019, 09:02 AM
I have experimented just a little bit with oils, and I also wish to paint solvent-free. So far, the most satisfactory experience I have had is to paint the first, very lean layer with water mixable oils using water as a thinner, and then regular oils with no medium (just some added walnut oil if needed) for subsequent layers. But, please take this with a grain of salt because I am no expert -- I did one painting this way.
Thanks DMSS. That seems to be the way to go alright. Could I ask what colours you might have used in the WMOs in that instance?

DMSS
04-07-2019, 09:04 AM
Burnt Umber and Titanium White.

Irishman
04-07-2019, 09:24 AM
Burnt Umber and Titanium White.
Thank you David.

Red 9
04-07-2019, 07:56 PM
Shouldn't be too difficult. You could use walnut oil throughout the whole painting, which is a nice slippery oil. A couple of brands like Blue Ridge and M. Graham use walnut oil in their paint and it definitely makes the paint easier to move around. Gamblin and Rublev also make solvent free gels if you need to add more body to your paint. Have fun!

Seaside Artist
04-08-2019, 01:19 AM