PDA

View Full Version : Critique please...

Kim34
04-01-2019, 02:18 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/01-Apr-2019/149321-Landscape_ip.jpg

Hi All,

It's been quite awhile since I've posted, and just recently started painting again. I'd love some input on this piece. I started playing around with what I could do on Canson Mi-Tientes and made it to this stage. I'm kind of liking it but feel stuck. How can I improve this?

Thanks!

Kim

Moises Menendez
04-01-2019, 03:14 PM
This is a good landscape and at least for me it is difficult to give a realistic critique since you used all the tips needed to be a good work. I like the use of the complementary colors, the curve of the path going toward the distant trees, and the violet bluish hills at the distance. Also the use of the cool and warm colors was very smart!

Kim34
04-01-2019, 03:24 PM
Okay, thank you Moises! I did get a suggestion from an art group I'm in on Facebook to maybe add some carefully placed poppies in the grass, which I'm considering.

Best,

Kim

water girl
04-01-2019, 05:21 PM
The foliage on those trees on the left and in the distance are outstanding. Yes, I could see some flowers in the field leading your eye toward the distant trees and hills.

PeggyB
04-01-2019, 06:17 PM
Personally I think flowers would be overkill;especially if they are of a different color family than what is already present in this painting. Red poppies would become a very powerful statement of "red flowers". California poppies, yellow gold, would be within the right color family, but I don't know if they exist when the grasses are tall and dried out. Do you know where this scene is located?