PDA

View Full Version : Brushes for Water-Mixable oils

stevenpituch
03-28-2019, 01:23 PM
Hi All,
I have been using W&N Artisan oils for a few months now. I have about 2 dozen brushes but I have found that I like to use only one. Unfortunately it is a number 12, which is a bit large for detail work. It is a synthetic bright. All my other smaller bright and flat brushes do not come to a sharp point like this one. It is perfect for painting to an edge, and lining out narrow stripes of paint.

I would like to get some smaller sized brushes. I have been looking on-line but the illustrations of the brushes only show the broad side of the brush, so I can't tell if the edge of the brush is sharp.

I am mostly using Artisan thinner for a media, and cleaning up with water with a little Murphy's Oil Soap. The water and soap seem to keep the edge of this brush forever sharp.

If anyone has specific suggestions of brushes that would do what I want, please chime in. I got this brush from Hobby Lobby, but their selection at my local store is hit and miss. My other option is to drive 2 1/2 hours to San Antonio, Texas, USA to the Jerry's Artarama store. But I have never been there, and there is a disclaimer on Jerry's web site saying their stores can charge different prices and have far less selection than their on-line store.

Thanks in advance.

Steve Pituch

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Mar-2019/2164296-_DSC2287-3.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Mar-2019/2164296-_DSC2285-1.jpg

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/28-Mar-2019/2164296-_DSC2286-2.jpg

contumacious
03-28-2019, 01:57 PM