PDA

View Full Version : I made a booboo. Will my painting fall off the canvas?

piston_pounder
03-18-2019, 11:02 AM
About three weeks ago I covered a canvas in raw umber that was thinned with OMS. I recently started a new painting but I didn't want such a dark base coat so I made what I'm now realizing is the mistake of covering it in a layer of grey Gesso.

Being a noob, I hadn't read yet that you can't put acrylic over oil since the oil continues to oxidize for so long.

It was a fairly thin layer of umber and it dried quickly. It's been three weeks. Is my painting doomed? Will a gaseous layer form between the oil and acrylic leaving my painting at risk of getting blown right off the canvas in a stiff breeze? What ill effects might I encounter?

stapeliad
03-18-2019, 11:19 AM
Hi, welcome to the oils forum!

If you are new to painting, honestly don't worry about it. Use the canvas, practice, it's fine.

If you were doing a commission or Something Very Important it would probably be best to use a different surface, but if you are just painting for practice/just starting out, use it and mark it on the back for your own records.

A full layer of oil under acrylic WILL crack, and it will take years and get progressively worse. I don't know about a thinned layer. It might eventually have effects but it will take a long time. Many years. By that time, if you keep painting, you will have progressed far along and you honestly won't care.

piston_pounder
03-18-2019, 11:22 AM
That is a good point. Thanks. As much as I feel attached to this painting as I work on it, down the road I'm sure I won't care.

stapeliad
03-18-2019, 11:27 AM
You won't care, not if you keep painting and getting better.
It's pretty standard to think you did the Best Painting Ever and a year later you cringe and can't even look at it anymore! :lol: It's a sign of growth.

Use the surface, enjoy your painting, and keep going.

Gigalot
03-18-2019, 12:51 PM
I think, you have no problem.

WFMartin