PDA

View Full Version : Still confused about oil mediums

john
03-02-2019, 10:32 AM
I'm relatively new to oil painting. I tried water mixable oils but didn't like the smell, I guess because of the linseed oil in it. So I got M Graham walnut oils which are great. I also have liquin, walnut alkyd medium, regular walnut oil and have decided on Gamsol as a thinner. I have been trying all these things and then I read about the yellowing of the alkyds and liquins. My painting has glossy sections and sections that are flat. I watch YT vids and my favorite guy uses alkyd oils with liquin. :confused:

I think I'm confusing myself with too many things. I thought I was fairly scientific kind of guy, but the more I read the more confused I get. This person uses oil of lavender, that person uses eye of newt. And then there is some Canadian stuff? I guess it's like Canadian bacon which isn't really bacon?

So I'm thinking of forgetting about all the drying faster stuff and just going with Gamsol and walnut oil. Is there any reason to use anything else if I am not worried about dry times ? As far as the handling properties, flow, adhesion etc, of the paint is there anything else I may want to use? I know about fat over lean and thick over thin.

Sorry to open this can of worms again but I'm having enough troubles with just making the right brush strokes in the right places. :)

JustAStudent
03-02-2019, 11:09 AM
I'm just starting out myself, but what literally everyone and their dog has told me is to just do oil, paint, spirits (gamsol, turp, OMS, Spike, whatever you like) for now. Worry about experimenting with other mediums once you're comfortable with that and you want to change something specific... such as, I want it thicker but more translucent, or I want it thinner but to still show distinct brush strokes, or whatever. Then you would start experimenting with alternative mediums and additives.

john
03-02-2019, 11:52 AM