PDA

View Full Version : Brush conundrum

MarcF
01-24-2019, 10:51 PM
I'm a new oil painter. I started with pretty inexpensive "student" brushes I bought at Michael's. I then bought some better W&N brushes - the long handled black ones.
Into small details, I bought detailing brushes from Amazon. Pretty poor quality I guess. The whole kit was about $20. The bristles splayed out after 1 or 2 uses. I can mold them back into shape but they're really not the best.

At Hobby Lobby I saw these Princeton Velvet Touch brushes and bought a few. I liked them a lot - I went back and bought a few more. The bristles stay in shape very well - even the tiny #1 brush. I think the bristles are synthetic. I hear a lot of talk about synthetic vs natural. I don't see natural hair brushes either on Amazon or the art supply store. Maybe there's a secret stash in the back - I don't know. I would always assume natural hair and fiber to be preferable (and usually more $$) to synthetics in clothing and other products. I prefer them anyway. That's why I went into oil paint vs acrylic to begin with. But I don't see the brushes even if I hear about them.

What brushes does everyone use? I do like the Princeton Velvet Touch line and they are available on Amazon. Love the chisel point, the spotter, etc. But is there an upscale brush made of natural hair? Sable, that sort of thing? And is it suitable for oil?
Thanks
(and please don't just brush this question aside)
MarcF

Raffless
01-25-2019, 02:59 AM
Before recommendations.How do you clean your brushes after use?

equinespirit
01-25-2019, 04:23 AM
I buy all my brushes from Rosemarys, their online site is like a sweetie store for me :lol:
I have tried quite a few different ones now and for me personally I love the sables for fine details, they seem to carry more paint and give finer control than the same size/shape synthetics.
But I do have synthetics and hog bristle that I use too in the larger brushes.