PDA

View Full Version : Wrong to use walnut alkyd medium and linseed on same painting?

regina0123
01-02-2019, 04:52 PM
If I am asking this question in the wrong place, please let me know. I've been a member for about a decade, but have yet to figure out how to post a question.

I've been a pastel artist for 20 years, now in the oil painter learning curve.

I'm doing a large 30 x 40 oil painting, and have been using walnut alkyd medium up to this point. Should I stick with that, or is it okay to try linseed oil on the rest of the painting?

Thanks for any help!

french.painter
01-02-2019, 05:37 PM
The few times I have ground pigments in a mix walnut + linseed oils, everything went perfect.
So I don't see why your walnut alkyd medium would go wrong with linseed oil paints.

Pinguino
01-02-2019, 05:38 PM
Just by way of clarifying your question: You mean one portion walnut/alkyd, one portion linseed, rather than layers or mixtures?

Raffless
01-02-2019, 05:59 PM
If I am asking this question in the wrong place, please let me know. I've been a member for about a decade, but have yet to figure out how to post a question.

I've been a pastel artist for 20 years, now in the oil painter learning curve.

I'm doing a large 30 x 40 oil painting, and have been using walnut alkyd medium up to this point. Should I stick with that, or is it okay to try linseed oil on the rest of the painting?

Thanks for any help!

It doesn't make any difference.

regina0123
01-02-2019, 07:58 PM
Thank you all for your replies. I think I'll stick with the walnut alkyd medium for this painting, but it's good to know there won't be a chemical reaction of some kind if I do use them both. Doubt that I will now, just need to experiment more.

I sure appreciate your advice!

Seaside Artist
01-03-2019, 02:49 AM