PDA

View Full Version : Misconceptions about painting on panel/finely sanded canvas

jdown
01-02-2019, 03:53 PM
As a beginner, I can sorta take the hubris of those here who declare that you must spend dozens of hours and weeks, even months laboring to prepare a surface before you can ever apply paint to said surface. And that if you merely buy a canvas from a reputable vendor and start painting it, you can scarcely call yourself an artist.
Having taken a Fredrix canvas and gessoed it, then sanded it to fineness for the purpose of painting a portrait in oil, I would like to offer the following initial impressions:
a) oil paint most assuredly does not flow smoothly and evenly onto a smooth, well-sanded canvas. The paint now has nowhere to go - it can only sit on the surface. The result is brush strokes that are much more visible and distracting than when using an "untreated" canvas.
b) blending is far more difficult when the surface is smooth and well-sanded. For example, I use a relatively dry brush to blend when painting on an untreated canvas - I apply it to the region where the two components meet and smooth out the border. When I try to blend painted regions on a smooth, well-sanded surface with a dry brush, the brush of course merely absorbs the paint that was on the surface.
Thus far I have found about 1,770 articles and Youtube videos on how to prepare a panel or canvas to make it ultra-smooth, and extolling the virtues of doing so. What I have yet to find is a detailed account of how you actually paint on such a surface. This question was put to Will Kemp three years ago on his website, but his answer was confusing and made little sense. The responses to a similar post here on WC in June 2018 were likewise unhelpful.

stapeliad
01-02-2019, 04:04 PM
A nice smooth surface is my favorite- either an eggshell-like finish or smooth oil-primed. All surfaces are treated somehow, usually oil-primed or with acrylic gesso.