PDA

View Full Version : blockx

wendyv123
09-14-2018, 01:06 PM
What do you think of them ? I am really new to pastels and I own a set of Koh I Noor (soft + hard + pencils), they were really cheap in Prague so bought them for playing around one of these days. I am looking around for a better quality as a Christmas gift. I have read about Blockx watercolour in a Zoltan Zsabo book and I discovered that they make pastels AND that they are a Belgian family company since 1865 and only use the finest pigments. https://www.blockx.be/en/histoire/historique.asp They claim that their pastels are fairly dustfree 'marks on your paper but not on your hand' and I have read that they are really nice and soft. Are they worth a try ?

Donna T
09-14-2018, 03:47 PM
Hi Wendy - I've never used this brand of pastel so I'm curious to learn what others may think of them. One person gave them a very good review on the Blick website but I couldn't find them in any of the other art supply stores I use. If they are available where you live it might be worth buying a few open stock colors before you invest in a set - and let us know how you like them, please!

DAK723
09-15-2018, 11:06 PM
Blockx are a nice medium softness pastel. I would say that they are probably a good choice for someone new to pastels as the really soft brands are often a bit harder to control and you can use them up really fast. Blockx has a good reputation in art supplies, and if you are in Belgium, then they would be a good choice!

Don

wendyv123
09-16-2018, 11:48 AM
Blockx are a nice medium softness pastel. I would say that they are probably a good choice for someone new to pastels as the really soft brands are often a bit harder to control and you can use them up really fast. Blockx has a good reputation in art supplies, and if you are in Belgium, then they would be a good choice!

Don