PDA

View Full Version : Painting on Unstretched Canvas (72x72)

IrishMom
05-09-2018, 11:17 AM
Hi, I am a new acrylic artist. My gallery is really pushing me to paint on unstretched canvas, to save myself expense- and their sales process involves taking paintings to clients' homes, which is much easier if they can roll the canvases up.

I have a commission coming up for a 72x72, which I will have to paint unstretched anyway due to the size - so its probably a good jumping off point for unstretched painting. So since I've never done this before, I wanted to get tips and feedback on my plan. TIA! I'm not concerned about the scale of the piece, as so far my work has been better the larger scale it gets. I've worked 40x60 and 48x48 without issue.

First, I plan to buy a roll of 84" Fredrix Dixie canvas. Will this be enough slack to wrap 1 3/8" stretchers, or should I go to 96"?

Then I'll lay it flat (I prefer painting flat anyway, so this is a non issue), weight it down with dumbells all around the sides.

Draw and mask off the 72" area (or should it be larger than that for a slight wrap)?

The commission is largely whites and creams, so I am not necessarily concerned with the sides being unpainted, as it won't be noticeable.

Take it to the gallery once dry for stretching, and then varnish it myself at the gallery. Is this necessary - or could I do a light layer of spray varnish prior to stretching?

I use all Golden paints and Golden MSA spray varnish. I typically use fairly thick paint with impasto and medium, mostly knife painting (so I'm concerned about losing the 'tension' of a nice springy stretched canvas). I am quite concerned about the canvas wrinkling, and/or the paint peeling/cracking. Should I add a few extra layers of gesso over top Fredrix's priming? Should I use a lighter hand, thinner paint? Will I have any issues with thinner glazes over top of the heavy body paint? I attached an image of a section of one of my paintings for reference.