PDA

View Full Version : Brush Question

paintfool
07-13-2001, 01:51 PM
I have no experience with acrylic paint and have to paint a fiberglass horse (Life sized!) which has been primed. Is there a particular type of brush that i should be using for the large areas? Please help! Thanks.
Cheryl

paintfool
07-13-2001, 02:00 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/13-Jul-2001/Seattledo.JPG I thought it might be helpful to include this. This is the idea for my design. It'll be done on a 6' x 8' fiberglass statue. I'm probably going to have a LOT of questions for you guys! :)
Cheryl

cuttlefish
07-13-2001, 06:37 PM
The Golden Acrylic website has an article on prepping and painting on fiberglass.
http://www.goldenacrylic.com/

I'd suggest some nylon or polyester house painting brushes; whatever is labeles "Best quality for Latex". That should work well for acrylic too. You might also try a foam cigar roller for very broad areas. A foam roller should deform well enough to cover all but the most compound curves. In either case, thin your paint at least to the consistency of heavy cream (unless you want your strokes to show) or even better, use a fluid paint formulation that you can use at full strength without thinning.

You've probably already thought about how you'll complete this project, but here are some of my ideas. Demarcate your color areas with masking tape and paper, slightly violating the areas where you want your black lines. When you remove the tape, you may detect a ridge where the paint met the tape. You can gently sand this down, if you like. Then, stroke in your stripes freehand or with masking, as you prefer.

paintfool
07-13-2001, 07:05 PM