PDA

View Full Version : Can I sand an oil painting canvas and use for acrylic painting?

JenniferG
04-14-2018, 03:49 PM
I bought a couple decent sized canvas from flea market today for $1. I don't care for the art on them and bought them to paint over.

These ones are oil paintings. I was wondering if I could sand them well and then paint over them with acrylic paint? Should I apply a layer or two of gesso first over the sanded oil painting? Then sand the Gesso?

Sorry I am completely new to painting (and this forum as of yesterday). I'm excited to learn how to paint.

Thanks,
Jennifer

Attalus
04-14-2018, 04:07 PM
Welcome to the Forum. As I understand it, you cannot paint over oils with acrylic paints. If you want to paint one first and then the other, it is okay to paint oils over acrylics, but never paint acrylics over oils. So for example, you could gesso your canvas and then apply a few layers of acrylic paint. Once the acrylic paint is dry, you can safely paint over it using oil paints. -Google

But if you really sand it down to bare canvas, I would think that you could reuse it with acrylics, as long as there is no remaining oil paint. Note: Big IF

. :wink2:

Charlie's Mum
04-14-2018, 04:54 PM
Welcome to the forum, and to painting.:)

Wouldn't advise doing that .... keep them for when trying oils!

With acrylics, you can use just about anything for a base .... some even use cereal boxes!
So, as long as a surface is grease-free, use whatever you have available!

JenniferG
04-14-2018, 05:23 PM
Thanks. I'll save the oil painting canvases for when I get into oil painting later on.

I have a couple dozen 12x12 inch sheets of medium weight chipboard here. I cut them down to 4.5 x 6 inches. I hope this isn't too small for me to learn on. I figure I should be frugal with supplies until I start to learn more.