PDA

View Full Version : protective finish for my multi-media pieces

Back In the Studio
03-14-2018, 10:48 AM
Hi all -

I am new to this forum, and recently back in to painting, creating.
My mixed media pieces are large - 4 x 4' at least and are dominantly acrylic with oil pastel accents and details on top. usually on canvas, these are heavily textured which causes finishing the work to be a little tedious. What is the best polyurethane finish considering rough texture and oil pastel being involved?? suggestions welcome.
Matte finish is my complete preference. thanks,

tuscanny
03-16-2018, 11:54 PM
Welcome to the forum, Back in the studio. As your work is mainly acrylic, I would rather ask this question in the acrylic forum.

theBongolian
03-17-2018, 02:08 AM
Welcome to the forum, Back in the studio. As your work is mainly acrylic, I would rather ask this question in the acrylic forum.
ummm.. but this IS the acrylic forum.

contumacious
03-17-2018, 10:53 AM
Hi all -

I am new to this forum, and recently back in to painting, creating.
My mixed media pieces are large - 4 x 4' at least and are dominantly acrylic with oil pastel accents and details on top. usually on canvas, these are heavily textured which causes finishing the work to be a little tedious. What is the best polyurethane finish considering rough texture and oil pastel being involved?? suggestions welcome.
Matte finish is my complete preference. thanks,

Since oil pastels really never dry / harden, whatever you put on there could possibly cause them to dissolve to some extent. Be sure you test it well before using it in a finished piece. Most likely you will need to spray it on in very light multiple layers.