PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone tried this surface?

Rosic
11-07-2003, 09:59 AM
Hey everybody.... I want to thank you all for making me feel so welcome in this forum.

I am fairly new to pastels and only have a few works under my belt. So far I have only worked on gessoed masonite and was wondering if anyone else has? If so what are your likes/dislikes about the surface? I have discussed this with a few of you personally but wanted to open it up to the whole forum.

My likes:
Inexpensive... sturdy surface... great texture (not real smooth yet not real toothy)... easy to prepare.

My dislikes:
I found that when working with charcoal I had to smudge with chamois vs fingers due to the ease of fingerprints. I did not run into this problem when working with both oil and soft pastels. No dislikes... love it!

Preparation:
4'x8' sheets of smooth masonite ("Panel Board") 1/4" thick can be purchased at Lowe's for about $8 US dollars. Cut to desired size (Most lumber yards will cut it for you at 25 cents per cut). Make a mixture of 50 % acrylic gessoe and 50% water. Paint onto surface and allow to dry. I vary my paint strokes and even leave the air bubbles for added texture. I usually use one caot and do not sand. You may even want to tone the board by adding arylic color to the mixture.

Example of surface once prepared:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2003/17108-triprecipewc.JPG

Examples with soft pastels:
"Seated Nude" after Modigliani (8x10)
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2003/17108-modigliani.JPG

"Woman Combing Her Hair" after Degas (16x20)
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2003/17108-degascombinghairwc.JPG

Close-Up showing texture of surface:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2003/17108-degascombinghairwcdetail.JPG

Example with oil pastels:
Blues Man (8x10)
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/07-Nov-2003/17108-jlhwc.JPG